Teaching Cultures Survey

Funded by: university partners from across the world
Project conducted: ongoing from 2018

The Teaching Cultures Survey is a global collaboration between universities committed to improving the status of teaching and learning in higher education. Most participating universities are planning, or already implementing, systemic changes to academic career pathways and the ways in which achievements in university teaching are rewarded. The survey provides them with evidence on the perspectives, experiences and aspirations of their academic communities with respect to this critical dimension of the university mission. The Teaching Cultures Survey is built around three cross-sectional surveys, in 2019, 2022 and 2024/5.

Participating universities

Aalborg University
University College London
Kings College London
Chalmers University of Technology
Chalmersplatsen 4, 412 96 Göteborg, Sweden
Technical University of Denmark (DTU)
Anker Engelunds Vej 1 Bygning 101A, 2800 Kgs. Lyngby, denmark
Leiden University
Pontifical Catholic University of Chile
Av Libertador Bernardo O'Higgins 328, Santiago, Región Metropolitana, Chile
Skoltech (Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology)
Moscow  143026
SOAS University of London
Delft University of Technology (TU Delft)
52.011900, 4.360260
University of Auckland
-36.8523, 174.7691
Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e)
51.450744, 5.491229
University of Edinburgh
Old College, South Bridge, Edinburgh EH8 9YL
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Sultan Ibrahim Chancellery Building, Jalan Iman, 81310 Skudai, Johor, Malaysia
University of Twente
Drienerlolaan 5, 7522 NB Enschede, Netherlands
University of Western Sydney
-33.799824, 151.022518
Utrecht University
University of Iceland
64.150700, -21.952061
Wageningen University
6708 PB Wageningen, Netherlands

24 institutions (from ten countries) have participated or are participating in the Teaching Cultures Survey: Aalborg University (Denmark), Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden), DTU (Denmark), Eindhoven University of Technology (Netherlands), Kings College London** (UK), Leiden University* (Netherlands), Maastrict Univeristy** (Netherlands), Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway), Pontifical Catholic University of Chile (Chile), Radboud University (Netherlands), Skoltech (Russia)*, SOAS University of London* (UK), TU Delft (Netherlands), University College London** (UCL, UK), University of Amsterdam (Netherlands), University of Auckland (New Zealand), University of Edinburgh* (UK), University of Iceland* (Iceland), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (Malaysia), University of Twente (Netherlands), Utrecht University (Netherlands), Vrije University Amsterdam (Netherlands), Wageningen University (Netherlands) and Western Sydney University* (Australia).

* 2019 survey only
** 2022 survey only